

Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention

AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

AWARD SUMMARY

• The AACR and the American Cancer Society established this Award in 1992 to recognize outstanding research accomplishments in the fields of cancer epidemiology, biomarkers, and prevention.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The award may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the award.

NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to https://myaacr.aacr.org. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
 - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding recent accomplishments in cancer epidemiology, biomarkers, and prevention research. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.
 - A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.



Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

AWARD SELECTION

- Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.
- Selection of the award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious or political views.

INQUIRIES

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Senior Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at <u>michael.powell@aacr.org</u> or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2024 Timothy R. Rebbeck 2023 Patricia A. Ganz **2022** Susan E. Hankinson 2021 Stephen J. Chanock 2020 Christopher I. Amos 2019 Edward L. Giovannucci 2018 Leslie Bernstein 2017 Meir J. Stampfer 2016 Richard Peto 2015 Mitchell H. Gail 2014 Curtis C. Harris **2013** Laurence N. Kolonel 2012 Graham A. Colditz 2011 John T. Schiller 2010 Michael J. Thun 2009 John D. Potter 2008 Robert N. Hoover

2007 Thomas W. Kensler 2006 Nicholas Edward Day 2005 Ross L. Prentice 2004 Malcolm C. Pike 2003 Martin J. Blaser 2002 Margaret R. Spitz 2001 I. Bernard Weinstein 2000 Walter C. Willett **1999** Alice S. Whittemore 1998 Ernst L. Wynder **1997** Henry T. Lynch **1996** Lee W. Wattenberg 1995 Frederick P. Li 1994 Brian E. Henderson 1993 Joseph F. Fraumeni, Jr. 1992 Pelayo Correa